Administration Council


The Administration Council (CA) operates in accordance with the Education Law no. 1/2011, the Charter of Babes-Bolyai University of Cluj-Napoca (UBB), or in line with internal regulations.

The Administration Council of UBB is an academic structure that ensures the operational management and administration of the university and applies the decisions of the University Senate.

The Administration Council consists of a rector, vice-rectors, deans, chief administrative executive and the students prefect.

In the works of the Administration Council the president and the vice presidents of the UBB Senate are permanently invited, without voting rights. In the works of the Administration Council other persons may attend according to the provisions of the UBB Charter and also by invitation addressed by the Rector ex officio or upon the request of the person demonstrating a legitimate interest.


1. Professor Ioan-Aurel POP, Ph.D.
Member of the Romanian Academy
Rector, chair of CA
2. Professor PhD IOAN BOLOVAN Vice-Rector
3. Professor PhD DANIEL DAVID Vice-Rector
4. Professor PhD RUDOLF GRÄF Vice-Rector
5. Professor PhD DAN LAZĂR Vice-Rector
6. Associate professor PhD CRISTIAN MARIUS LITAN Vice-Rector
7. Professor PhD MIHAELA LUŢAŞ Vice-Rector
8. Associate professor PhD MARKÓ BÁLINT Vice-Rector
9. Professor PhD CĂLIN RUS Vice-Rector
10. Associate professor PhD SOÓS ANNA Vice-Rector
12. Professor Ioan BUCUR
Member of the Romanian Academy
Council for Doctoral Studies
13. Economist IOAN NEAG Chair
General Administrative Directorate (DGA)
14. CĂTĂLIN HĂDADEA Prefect of students
15. Professor PhD Adrian-Olimpiu PETRUŞEL Dean
Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science
16. Professor PhD Aurel POP Dean
Faculty of Physics
17. Associate professor PhD Gabriela-Nicoleta NEMEŞ Dean
Faculty of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
18. Professor PhD Octavian POPESCU
Member of the Romanian Academy
Faculty of Biology and Geology
19. Professor PhD . Dănuţ PETREA Dean
Faculty of Geography
20. Professor PhD Corin BRAGA Dean
Faculty of Letters
21. Professor PhD Florin STRETEANU Dean
Faculty of Law
22. Professor PhD Augustin Ovidiu GHITTA Dean
Faculty of History and Philosophy
23. Associate professor PhD Răzvan Valentin MUSTAȚĂ Dean
Faculty of Economics and Business Administration
24. Professor PhD Adrian Nicolae OPRE Dean
Faculty of Psychology and Educational Sciences
25. Associate professor PhD Ioan Alin NISTOR Dean
Faculty of Business
26. Professor PhD Călin HINŢEA Dean
Faculty of Political, Administrative and Communication Sciences
27. Professor PhD Nicolae PĂUN Dean
Faculty of European Studies
28. Associate professor PhD Leon GOMBOȘ Dean
Faculty of Physical Education and Sport
29. Associate professor PhD . Paul-Teodor HĂRĂGUȘ Dean
Faculty of Sociology and Social Work
30. Professor engineer PhD Alexandru OZUNU Dean
Faculty of Environmental Science and Engineering
31. Professor PhD Liviu MALIŢA Dean
Faculty of Theatre and Television
32. Pr. Professor PhD Vasile STANCIU Dean
Faculty of Orthodox Theology
33. Pr. Professor PhD Cristian BARTA Dean
Faculty of Greek-Catholic Theology
34. Assistant professor PhD Ioan VIK Dean
Faculty of Roman Catholic Theology
35. Assistant professor PhD Olga LUKÁCS Dean
Faculty of Reformed Theology
36. Syndicate representative Guest 
UBB Syndicate




  • PhD Tudor VLAD – University of Georgia, USA, deputy director of James M. Cox Jr. Center for International Mass Communication Training and Research
  • Professor PhD Michael METZELTIN – University of Vienna, Austria, member of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, honorary member of the Romanian Academy
  • Professor PhD Cesare ALZATI – Catholic University of Milan, Italy, honorary member of the Romanian Academy
  • George ROTH – honorary consul of Romania in the United States of America